A tale of two Breads

Kitchen Aid Bread

My friend Candice and I have had excessive talks about bread. Long, engaging . . . overreaching talks about bread.

We both agreed that we are close to being certifiable about it, and it made us take a step back and ask ourselves . . . Why? Why do we care so much about the crown it gets after the first rise? Why do we care so much about the texture and whether or not it will properly hold peanut butter? Even the crust – the part that the kids throw away – has become an obsession. Is it thick? Too thick? Browned? Hollow sounding?

GAH!

Yes, we are overachievers. Yes, we are perfectionists. But honestly, there is a little more going on here than just your average desire to make something good. So much of who we are as women are wrapped up in our houses. As “stayathomemoms” (affectionately acronym’d as SAHM on Twitter) we don’t always get to have the ‘alter ego’ that other women have. I find some of me in writing and coaching, Candice tries to find some of her in reading, but by and large, we are who our families are. Our families are our kids and husband, and our kids and husband are what they eat. Ergo . . .

Following me so far?

There is also that small, niggling part of my brain that says, “If you can just accomplish this one thing: a loaf of bread that tastes wonderful, holds together as a sandwich with that perfect texture, and looks amazing, you ARE an amazing person.”

I know, realistically, that my entire self-worth isn’t rolled up in that soft, pliable dough, smooth enough to be Mary’s sweet cheeks, but sometimes it feels that way. Like, I will be a failure if I don’t make it happen. Like I am not the mother I should be. A particular low point was after a batch of bread that had too much fat in it (yes, there IS such a thing as too much fat in bread – makes it crumble, I know this because I’ve been trying to perfect this now for two months straight) was when Lizzie said to me, “Mom, I want you to get the bread again in the plastic bag from the factory.”

Ouch.

Reality check from the seven year old. To quote Candice, “Bread is the staff of life, for God’s sake, they’ve been making it since the beginning of time! Why does it have to be this hard?”

I’ve found though, that it really isn’t about the bread per se. No matter what it is that I produce, if there is nothing else, the kids will eat it. I have discovered though, that focusing on something such as this gives us an “out.” If we get involved in a project, we have another purpose, a way to escape the reality of life that is either too scary at times, too sad, or too monotonous. We have something else to think about – the elusive “light at the end of the tunnel” that we will finally be able to say we’ve reached. It really is the small victories in life after all.

Walter Sands' Basic White Bread

If I can say anything about myself, its that I (usually) learn quickly. I can make mistakes, apologize and move on fairly easily. It has taken me two months of testing recipes to realize that they are all very similar. Something Candice and I discussed the other day is the definition of crazy. Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is the definition of crazy. Despite changes in humidity and temperature, if I make the same recipe over and over and want it to be different, I am . . . crazy. Wait…

*scratches head*

This is why we are always after the next recipe. They are all very similar, flour, yeast, butter, milk, salt, sugar/honey and water. This is pretty much it. Techniques and amounts vary though and, for some reason, yield different results and textures. Obviously, different flours will as well. One cup of whole wheat flour to replace one of the six cups of white makes a difference, both in texture and taste. I’ve wondered what would happen if I used sparkling water instead of tap water? Would bottled water make a difference?

These are the things I think about. Maybe the definition of crazy has changed?

*insert maniacal laughter here*

Ultimately, I know I may never achieve the perfect loaf of bread. Or, if by some miracle I do, I know I will probably never be able to reproduce it. There are just too many variables: the humidity, the outside/inside temperature, is the sky that perfect color of blue with just enough clouds to set it off? And there is of course, the biggest reason why: I don’t live in France where, apparently all of the above is exactly right to make bread all the freaking time. Nevertheless, I will continue my endeavors in trying to make the perfect loaf of bread, just like the ones from the factory. Oh, right, they use preservatives, I don’t want THAT!

See? It really IS a paradigm shift!

Kitchen Aid Bread - about to go in first rise.

Walter Sands' bread at the end of first rise.

See how they look the same?? Insanity.
I will continue to trudge towards the elusive light. After all, there are as many bread recipes as there are people, practically (see above comment regarding the beginning of time…). Candice has a whole slew of them, she will do some, I will do the others and we will continue to compare results.

In the meantime? It’s picture day, they want homemade oatmeal (the kind that takes 7 minutes to cook), and the bus comes in 15 minutes.

*Sigh*

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Bread, Food, House and Home, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A tale of two Breads

  1. I love baking bread but you’re right it is so hard to get the perfect loaf. I sometimes use water that I’ve boiled potatoes in instead of tap water as the starch is meant to add flavour and give a better texture, it seems to work well. Might be something you’d like to try 🙂

    • krob3 says:

      Now, that’s a thought… hmm… *adds to my mental list of variables* – Send me pictures next time you do it? I will try to remember to save the water from potatoes next time. Thanks for reading my blog! 🙂

  2. jendauthor says:

    I think that today will be the day. Aaron and I are going to go to the store to get what we need and I’m going to start making our own bread. I know that I can do this … as you said, people have been doing this for centuries. I can make bread for my family. And it’ll be delicious. 😉 Thanks for inspiring me.

    • krob3 says:

      MWAHAHAHAHA!!! *evil laugh* I’ve brought another one into the circle of obsession! You realize you are setting yourself up for this, right? But seriously, I am thrilled. There is something therapeutic and calming about making bread. The feel, the smell, everything. And as my mother said, it is important for our children to realize that bread – at some point in its short life – was warm, fresh out of the oven. Even the ‘factory bread.’

      Now we can compare. 🙂

Leave a Reply

