Planning

Whole Foods Vegetables

So, this post is a day (or so) early. I have some things coming up this week that necessitate me planning ahead, buying, possibly cooking, and in general, thinking about what my kids will be eating. I am having a routine surgery done this week and we are calling in the big guns – the MOTHERS – to come and help take care of the kids as I am otherwise drugged out on pain meds. I am lucky enough to have three mothers. In addition to my own, I have a step-mother in law and a mother in law who are some of the most wonderful people on earth. Not only do they love my family, but they love me, and for that I am exceptionally grateful.

Back to the subject at hand . . . planning.

Anyone who has children know that this is both a necessary – and futile – exercise. You can ask kids a million times what they want to eat, and if they don’t come up with something ridiculous like, “Oh, I’d really like steamed lobster,” they inevitably say, “the usual.” So then you proceed with “the usual” which is to say, what I want them to eat, and they started the squawking. Mom and I went shopping yesterday, both at Whole Foods and at Costco. I spent an exorbitant amount of money despite the fact that I was trying very hard to stick to my “Good, Better, Best” philosophy. I took Mom along with me so that,

1. I could let her know about the foods I want the kids and the husband to eat, and

2. so that she would would know what we have when the inevitable, “We have nothing to eat” shrieks come from the kids’ mouths.

I am hoping she will spread her knowledge to Grandma when she gets here to take over, and she will, in turn tell Mimi what we have and what we need when she gets here. They are all working in tandem to help me. Have I mentioned how lucky I am? Well, anyway, what did I buy and how did I prepare? It started with asking the kids, and having them fill out the “All Out Of” notepad that I keep on the fridge. Emma took the initiative and marked up the little boxes; bananas, grapes, broccoli, along with frozen pizza (dream on) and chips (yeah, right) were all checked off. The other kids took a turn at it, and for the most part, checked off acceptable foods given our new way of eating.

I then thought about the contents of our freezer and compared it to who would be cooking and what they were good at. Lizzie requested Crock-Pot Roast and Grandma’s chicken, and Nina makes a mean Shrimp and Pasta. Given that I have about 80% of the ingredients necessary for all of this, I thought they were good choices, so I put them on “THE MENU.” From that, it was just a matter of filling in the blanks with the missing items as well as taking in to consideration things like snacks for school/after school, lunchbox items and breakfasts.

The other part that was key was having Nina unload all the groceries. This way, she not only know what we bought, but where it is. Here is the list, pretty much complete.

Organic grapes, both red and white
Organic navel oranges (normally, oranges are one of those things that doesn’t have to be organic, because you peel them, but these were only $1.49/lb and they are delicious.
Bananas
Organic vanilla yogurt
Organic granola (the store brand – quite good!)
String cheese (it was on special BOGO!)
Mild cheddar, monterey jack and colby cheeses in blocks
Snack crackers
Cereal
Organic milk (3 gallons)
2 bottles of wine (that’s a clear liquid, isn’t it? I can have that, can’t I?)
3.75 lbs of chuck roast
Hummus
Pita Bread
“FACTORY BREAD” – *snort* – not really, sneaky momma bought Organic Whole Foods whole wheat bread – hehehe
Pasta – for the shrimp pasta
Shrimp
Coffee
Asparagus (“responsibly grown” – got it at Costco)
Tortilla chips (the only kind of chips I am buying these days)
Canned organic vegetables and beans
Couscous
Organic frozen waffles (Earth’s Best brand – they were on sale AND I had coupons!)
Vegetables, some organic, some not (Carrots, green peppers, mushrooms, etc. for the Vegetable Bolognese – fabulous recipe)
Neufchatel cheese
Organic Raspberries
Goldfish (from Costco)
Olive Oil
Orange juice
Pretzels

I’m pretty sure there were a few other things, but I can’t remember. My friend Bob (Tug of the Earth) delivered 10lbs. of organic, all-purpose flour, and I will make bread tomorrow. What else can I do? Nothing. I have to let go and hope for the best. Fingers crossed that the kids will step up and make some good choices, I don’t expect them to all be perfect, but I’m hoping for a 70/30 ratio.

I’ll let you know next week.

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Bread, Food, House and Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

