Realizations

*Gasp*

It has been two months since my last post. What can I say? I’m sorry. Just know that between that last post and today, I have been busy changing the world.

Well … my own world.

Forrest and I had a rare moment together in the car, going to or fro, not sure, and I was discussing the realization that I had had the previous day. I started this campaign of changes for seven back in August. It has been six months to date and I have come to the conclusion that I have (almost) achieved my goal. We still have a little bit further to go, and some things have gone back to the way they were (Eggo Waffles, anyone?) but on the whole, my family is eating healthier and more whole foods. I would estimate that we are about 89 – 92% there.

Forrest pointed out that we still toss a lot of food, and this is true, but I don’t think it is as much as we used to and if there happens to be a week that I do have to toss stuff, it is because the refrigerator froze it or the kids were just extra picky that week. I’m sure it has nothing to do with my forgetting that we already have two bags of carrots, and of course we need more, so I buy more.

No, of course not.

In general though, like most things, when you start changes, there is an upswing – a crazy, zealous need to change everything all at once. Then you settle down and learn what are the most important things to change. For instance, the bread. I could never achieve the perfect loaf (see earlier posts), but I have come to terms with this and let that go. There is nothing in the grocery store that isn’t processed. I’m sorry, but it is true. Fortunately for me though, I have a Great Harvest Bread company right up the street. So I have compromised and I will go to them every ten days or so and buy three loaves (2 for the freezer) and spend not much more money than I would if I were buying the “healthy” bread in the store. Even Arnold’s bread, that gets an A- on my Fooducate app (a brilliant tool, by the way) still has things I cannot pronounce in it as well as preservatives.

The ingredients list it right there on the label.

The bread I buy now is exactly what I would make at home (only better because, well, I didn’t make it) and made of five ingredients. It is a perfect compromise. The kids no longer eat chips unless they are tortilla chips and we are having Mexican. They eat fruit and yogurt and egg sandwiches and hummus and pita. They eat peanut butter and cereal bars and cereal. (Note, cereal bars are full of sugar, but I consider them a lesser evil, and I am very particular about the cereal I buy.)

Long story short, we are getting there. I still have another month, but I have definitely succeeded in changing my kids thought processes on what is good and healthy and what isn’t. I am very proud of this fact. Today, I have to take a snack to the kids after school while they work on the musical that they are involved in. I am making roasted tomato soup and homemade chocolate chip cookies made from whole wheat flour and rolled oats.

Doesn’t that sound like a good snack?

Roasted Tomato Soup

2 pints of grape tomatoes (organic or not – your choice)

4-6 carrots, chunked and unpeeled (again, organic or not)

3 cloves of garlic, whole and still in their paper

Olive oil, salt and pepper

Lightly toss the vegetables in olive oil, salt and pepper and roast on a sheet tray in the oven at 425 for about 25-30 minutes until soft and caramelized. Set aside to cool.

In a saucepan sautee:

1 chopped onion (organic or not) in olive oil until soft and translucent.

Add the roasted vegetables (slip the garlic out of their paper sleeves first) and 1 box of organic chicken or vegetable stock (I use vegetable). Add fresh basil or parsley (you can also add a pinch of dried). Bring to a boil and turn off heat. Carefully ladle the soup into a blender, take the insert out of the fitted top and cover with a moistened paper towel. (You MUST do this or the soup will go everywhere – something about the laws of physics, but I’m not sure.) Carefully blend the soup until it is perfectly smooth (or to your favorite consistency). Pour back into the saucepan, taste for seasoning and add 1-2 T. of heavy cream or half and half.

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Food, House and Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

