Lean on Me

Friendship is a magnificent thing. Those of you out there who have real friends- the kind that share every joy and feel every pain- you know what I mean. As you have gathered from Kit’s earlier post she’s been sick for a couple of weeks now. It’s taking its toll. It’s that kind of sick that makes you forget the kind of person you were when you were healthy. If you could only get back to that place. The birds were singing, you baked cookies for your children to have as they came home from school and you felt whole.  Throughout this illness kit has not missed a day of work. She is loyal and dependable, but most of all she is an excellent friend.

She’s the kind of person that can simplify things by her mere presence. When you’re with her she just makes you feel better, more peaceful. Added to that she’s an amazing mom, wonderful cook, fabulous writer and has the voice of an angel (really it makes me cry).  In fact, as Rosamunde Pilcher would say she “has a talent for living”.

I texted with Kit throughout the day. We do this most days checking in sharing our plans, goals, or the latest drama. Our lives are strangely parallel. They have been for the 7 years we’ve been friends. Hey there’s another 7.  Kit is always there for me. She listens to every crazy idea and picks me up when I feel mired in the minutiae of life. Today she let me help her. And it felt good. Good to know I could be there for one of the dearest people in my world. And as we ended our day texting to say goodnight, get rest, she thanked me. I, of course, thanked her back because she does this for me daily. She said, “give and take, that’s what its all about.” She’s right. Allow someone to help you and you in turn help them.  It’s really why we’re all here together – to lean on each other. Give it a try.

Sorry for the gratuitous kitten picture, but it’s so darn cute.

 

About genxmommy1

Mother of four, wife and daughter. I'm busy but I'm putting myself "out there". I hope to learn and share whatever knowledge I've been able to scrape off this planet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

