Holy Sh#@!

Today has been one of those crazy, off the hook, hold on it’s going to be a bumpy ride type of days. If it’s been that way for you too– Can I get an Amen!  I know my day has been crazy and Kit’s has been even crazier. I’ll tell you about a few of the things we encountered on this 13th day of November. Kit and I both had 9:15 am appointments for our youngest children. Both had been running fevers. I won’t give you every detail of the day but let’s just say it was filled with high fevers, blisters on throats, bloody mouths, white blood cell counts, sponge baths and massive amounts of anxiety. In short, a parent’s worse nightmare.

It seems like these types of days always follow a holiday. Have you noticed that? The proverbial calm before the storm. So today was hard, really hard and draining. If you have children these are the days the bring you back to true north. They help you clear away any distractions you may have like budgets, career choices or housekeeping. They give you the laser like clarity to see what a blessing good health truly is.

When we have these kind of days I think about people who live with constant health problems or debilitating diseases. I think about the people who are parents and caregivers of ill children. I know from my own caregiving experience it is very hard and tiring. My mom is not my child and think that would make it even tougher.  I find the strength to face each day as it comes. I know other caregivers do the same. Just take it one day at a time.

It reminds me of my latest addiction, Free Flow. If you haven’t played it on your handheld electronic device of choice please try it. It’s like a little zen candy koan for your brain. All you have to do is connect the like colored dots. You can’t break the lines by intersecting different colors. It’s kind of like a backwards maze. Very much like life. That’s why I like this game. I hear my inner voice coaching me and saying, “Do what you know” “Do the simple things first, then the rest will fall into place.” Isn’t that good advice for living? When faced with a crisis do the things you know you have to do first-  make the doctor’s appointment, walk the dog, feed mom breakfast, give  morning medication, take Duncan to the doctor. Swipe, swipe, swipe. That part is done. Now keep moving through your day making sure to do the simple moves first, the ones you know are right. Don’t worry about the part that doesn’t make sense yet. That path will be clearer when all the other stuff is out of the way.

So we swipe through our day. Clearing the paths that lay before us until we get to the only path that is left. The mystery we couldn’t figure out in the beginning has now been made clear.

About genxmommy1

Mother of four, wife and daughter. I'm busy but I'm putting myself "out there". I hope to learn and share whatever knowledge I've been able to scrape off this planet.
This entry was posted in caregiving, Families, Parenting, Scheduling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

