When In Doubt, Bake!

I’m feeling weird today. I want to get things done, but I’m lazy. I have all these ideas/lists in my head, but I feel immobile. I think it’s the approaching holiday that’s gotten me out of whack. I know there is a lot to be done. We found out on Thursday that my brother-in-law, his wife and four children will be coming up to North Carolina from Florida to celebrate Thanksgiving. It will be fun. They will stay about 5 days so I have to plan meals and buy supplies. We’ll all be bunking down together so I can’t forget the any necessities of life for 13 people.

I know there is a lot to be done but when I get like this I just want to bake. Baking makes everything seem better. And it makes everyone happier. Yesterday Brynn (my fifteen year old) and I were at World Market. I really like that place. Brynn described it as a cross between a watered down Fresh Market and Pier 1. I thought that was a good description. Well they have all these European chocolates. As I’ve mentioned before I’m not a huge fan of chocolate but everyone in my house is and I had read about these Guittard chocolate chips for the chocoholic. So I bought two bags and figured I’d make some cookies.

I started making my tried and true Toll House recipe and decided to look up other recipes with Guittard chips in them. I came across the most yummy looking blog. And right there smack dab on the homepage was a picture of a delicious looking cookie. The name of the blog is A Bountiful Kitchen. I suggest you check it out. The cookie is called a S’Mores Cookie. I’ve transcribed the recipe from her blog below. Her cookie is an adaptation as was mine. I had already made my cookie dough so I just added the marshmallow and Hershey’s. Everyone agreed messy but oh so good. So if you’re feeling a little overwhelmed with all the holiday hubbub just do what I do. When in doubt, bake!

S’Mores Cookies
adapted from Giving Up on Perfect blog
print recipe

1 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups chocolate chips
1 cup Golden Grahams cereal
1  1/2 cup mini marshmallows
4 regular size Hershey Bars
9 large marshmallows, sliced in half

Preheat oven to 375.
Cream butter with sugars. Add eggs, one at a time. Beat until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add vanilla.
Add flour, baking soda, salt  and chocolate chips to mixing bowl. Mix just until all dry ingredients are incorporated, about 1 minute.   Fold in  Golden Grahams and mini marshmallows with spatula, do not use mixer.  Fold just until evenly distributed into batter.
With large cookie scoop, or spoon, shape dough into 18 balls (about the size of golf balls) place on parchment lined cookies sheets, 6 cookies per sheet. Press down on each cookie a bit with the back of a large spoon or spatula.
Bake for about 7 minutes.
Remove from oven.
Place one half of a marshmallow on each cookie, put back in oven and bake for an additional 2 minutes.
Remove from oven again, slightly flatten and place 2 rectangles from a broken up Hershey bar on top of marshmallow.
Cook for an additional minute.
Remove from oven (for the last time), with a knife, spread the melted chocolate so it covers the marshmallow.

About genxmommy1

Mother of four, wife and daughter. I'm busy but I'm putting myself "out there". I hope to learn and share whatever knowledge I've been able to scrape off this planet.
This entry was posted in Families, Food, House and Home, Procrastination, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When In Doubt, Bake!

Leave a Reply

