Strategies and Sustenance

So, for weeks now I see people posting on Facebook all the things they’re thankful for. I love reading these. I agree with almost every single one and I laugh heartily, chortle as it were, at all the silly ones. “A Princess does not chortle.” Sorry, we bought the movie Brave and (it seems) have been watching it non-stop since. I have not done this particular exercise on Facebook as I tend to be a stalker. You know us stalkers, the kind of person who jumps on at odd hours, reads through everyone else’s posts, maybe clicks “Like” on a few things, rarely comments, and jumps off before the green dot next to my name becomes obvious. Why is this, you ask? Sigh, I have no idea, but I’m pretty sure it is right up there with why I don’t like to talk on the phone. But whatever, I have thoroughly enjoyed the days of thankfulness and it has encouraged me. I have much to be thankful for. With the big Turkey Day only two days away, my planning and executing begin tomorrow.

 

Tomorrow is my grocery day for the rest of the week and for Thanksgiving. After swim practice, Mollie and I will head to the Farmer’s Market Basket headquarters to pick up our pre-ordered basket, and then to pick up our turkey. Afterward, if I can talk Mollie into staying with me, we will stop by the grocery store to pick up the things we need for the normal part of the week, coffee creamer, tin foil, and all the items that were in my head a mere hour ago, but seem to have melted away down the bathroom sink with my toothpaste. I am very excited about this, one because I get to spend time with Mollie, two, because I love shopping for food, and three, because I get my BASKET.

 

My main goal, as it was this past week, is not to produce a fabulous turkey (its fresh and its brined already, how could it be bad?) or perfect mashed potatoes (bought those already), but is to use up every single thing I get in my Farmer’s Market Basket. I was successful this past week, making up stuff to eat from the mushrooms to the four ears of corn (which was tricky seeing as how it takes eight to feed my family) to the gorgeously sweet organic golden pineapple (we ate that tonight for dessert with chocolate ganache). I have become the food Nazi, not letting my kids throw anything away, fearlessly and unapologetically introducing leftovers back into the mainstream dinner, or at the very least as lunch. Giving Forrest creative options for lunch when I can tell all he wants to do is find some excuse to go to Tin Lizzy’s and spend ten dollars. I’m trying to instill in them the idea and the belief that food is precious, that we are so very lucky to have good, healthy food so readily available. Sometimes they roll their eyes and mash their teeth, but I can usually coax them in to something.

 

In my basket last week I got peppers, onions, corn, broccoli, cucumbers, two beautiful heads of organic lettuce, apples, pineapple, potatoes, avocado, limes, bananas, tomatoes and a few other things I can’t remember. It filled two huge reusable shopping bags! It was all organic and I spent thirty dollars, somewhat pricey at first glance, but given how much food we got, how many meals I was able to stretch it out into, I thought it was a fabulous deal. The peppers went in to crab cakes, the potatoes were baked, the lime and avocado made guacamole, the broccoli was roasted, the corn was cut off the cob and fried, the bananas were dunked in chocolate and also made into smoothies … it was all fabulous. I’m very much looking forward to tomorrow’s basket and what delights it might yield, and I’m especially thankful for the opportunity to get to experience it. I’m hoping that Mollie and the rest of the kids will enjoy the process and will begin to look forward to it.

 

Now that would be something to be thankful for.

 

PS – If you live in our area, check them out … FMB.

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Budget, Families, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strategies and Sustenance

  1. Wendy Kenny says:

    Thank you for this info. I really miss Tug of the Earth, I will have to check this out when we get back from vacation.

  2. Susie says:

    Kit, I love how creative you are in your meals! Wishing you, Robbie, and your sweet children a blessed Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

