A Little Bit Country and A Little Bit Rock-N-Roll


I have been MIA for the past week and some. Thanksgiving was fun, wild and family-filled. In short, just what I needed. It’s nice to see all the kids getting along and growing up. It’s so funny how conversations have changed from what’s your favorite song/game/movie to what colleges are you interested in?  It’s sort of sad too. They are all getting older. We are ALL getting older. I felt very old when we happened upon a downtown bar and played a little bar trivia.

Okay let’s get this straight first, drinking and trivia don’t mix. I had already consumed two glasses of wine (my personal “away from home” max), when we hit a local brewery. I looked at a drink menu and some deep-seated hippie vibe made me order a drink named The Grateful Dead. I was a fan of the band, but I figured out the next morning it has nothing to do with band–you would be Grateful to be Dead then having a hangover. Some of the questions were really hard and frankly I don’t remember the atomic number of Selenium–34. I did get every Twilight question correct, but that’s because I’m friends with Kit.

The trivia was fun so we continued playing throughout the week. I excelled at 70’s trivia because that’s such a big part of my childhood. One question asked what brother and sister duo had a longstanding record career and hit show in the 70’s? Of course it was Donnie and Marie! Remember she was a little country and he was a little rock-n-roll. My best friend Katie Gobert had the Donnie and Marie dolls. We cut off all of Marie’s hair and gave her a sex change. Something we also learned about in the 70’s. We felt she would be happier if she was more like Donnie.

Every night we cooked a big meal for the family. The meals had to be both yummy and filling. We had three teenage boys eating. One night we had lasagna, always a favorite and plenty to go around. The last night we had what I’m going to call “a little bit country and a little bit rock-n-roll dinner”. Kit turned me on to the Pioneer Woman’s Barbecued Meatballs about a year ago. They have been a hit and a regular in meal planning ever since. If you haven’t tried them do. That’s the “country” part of the meal. The “rock-n-roll” came from a dish my sister-in-law makes. It’s a copycat recipe of a dish she had at Capital Grille, Lobster Mac and Cheese. That stuff was good. I mean curl your toes good. If you are looking for a dish to wow some people this New Year’s Eve it’s the one. To me that meal kind of summed up our whole family we’re “a little bit country and a little bit rock-n-roll”.  Check out the recipe below. And enjoy!

Capital Grille Lobster Mac and Cheese Copycat Recipe

For the Sauce:

1 qt Heavy Cream
1 Tbsp Kosher Salt
8 oz. Mascarpone
4 oz Grana Padano, Finely Grated
3 oz Havarti, Coarsely Grated
For the Meal:
1- 1lb lobster
1 bag Campanelle pasta
4 oz Grana Padano, Finely grated (we substituted Parmigiano-Reggiano)
4 oz Grated white cheddar
2 tsp minced garlic
1/4 small onion minced
DIRECTIONSFor the sauce:

  • Place cream and salt in saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil and and simmer for 20 min. Whisk in the mascarpone, havarti and Grana Padano until well combined.

Assembly

  • 1 lobster, Boil or steam for 5 min. and remove meat. Meat should be only half cooked.
  • Saute meat with garlic and onion
  • Cook pasta in heavily salted water, extra al dente
  • Warm the cream sauce in over medium heat. Once hot add pasta, toss to coat. Add the white cheddar and transfer to shallow casserole. Top with lobster meat and Grana Padano roast in 500 oven for 5 min. or until golden brown.
About genxmommy1

Mother of four, wife and daughter. I'm busy but I'm putting myself "out there". I hope to learn and share whatever knowledge I've been able to scrape off this planet.
This entry was posted in Families, Food, Teenagers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

