Chocolate, Candy, Cookies … oh My!

london.blog.qype.com

london.blog.qype.com

 

Within the last few weeks, I’ve made a whole host of treats. White chocolate bark with peppermint, white chocolate bark with cranberries, apricots and pepitas, truffles, apple cake, cupcakes, chocolate chip cookies, ice cream sandwiches from those cookies. I’ve purchased bag after bag of chocolates, truffles, peppermint patties, kisses and peppermint sticks. I’ve been given snickerdoodles, Ghiardelli chocolate, “Reindeer food,” cherry truffles and various boxes and bags of assorted chocolates. Candice’s husband makes Buckeyes and homemade Almond Joys that I swear have crack cocaine in them. I have to say it is sad for me not to get to see them this year, but he is probably glad we aren’t coming to eat up all his treats!

 

I love, love treats and sweets, and I try very hard to eat them in moderation, but this time of the year, it is so very difficult. The only thing I know to do is to make dinners that balance all those sweets out. Tonight, we are having one of my most favorite dinners. Not only is it super healthy, but it tastes yummy, the kids will eat it (except for the vegetarian), its easy to make and it is a one pot meal. How great is that??

 

We are having Ina’s Chicken Chili (Garten, Ina. Barefoot Contessa, Parties. New York: Clarkson Potter, 2001). I know, I know, the thought of chicken chili turned me off at first too. I am not a fan of ground turkey or ground chicken. I just … can’t. Yuck.

 

But this is made with chunky vegetables and roasted chunks of chicken.

 

IMG_2057

 

It is not heavy, but very filling. It’s beautiful to look at and spicy to eat. In a word, its perfect. I am posting the link for the recipe, but want you to know, I’ve made this a million times and make it a tad different from Ina’s recipe. I use whatever I have on hand, have been known to add celery, use canned diced tomatoes and cilantro instead of basil. But that’s what recipes are for, take them and make them your OWN!

IMG_2058

IMG_2059

 

IMG_2060

 

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Food, health, Whats for dinner? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

