You Get What You Pray For

I’m sorry. I’ve been bombarded by life and haven’t had the time or the energy to do a post. I’m sure most of you are not holding your breath awaiting my next post. I’m mean really let’s face it, we’re all here to read what Kit has to say. Well today Kit said I should write the post, so I’m writing the post. Let me give you the run down of what’s happening in my life right now.

About two months ago my husband interviewed for and got a job with his company in Fort Worth, Texas. Some of you may be saying, “Hey aren’t you from Texas?” Yes I am. That is what made this job attractive to us. I have a sister and brother in Houston. That means we would have more support in helping care for mom. Right now we have no family nearby. We also have cousins and college chums in Fort Worth. This made it an even better move. So here we go again putting the house on the market, getting Tommy to Texas in corporate housing, juggling four kids on my own, and making sure mom is welled cared for.  This is the seventh time so I should be an old hand at this by now. Right? Wrong. There is a reason the IRS calls having a baby and moving “life changing events”– it flips your life on its axis. Things have been going fairly smoothly. Graciously, my sister volunteered to care for mom until I get settled in Texas. Tommy got moved into corporate housing in down town Fort Worth (paying twice my mortgage a month-cough). And I worked like a beast to get the house decluttered, cleaned and staged for sale.

In a weird twist of fate Tommy had a friend at work that was interested in the house. The first day it was on the market the friend put an offer on it and we accepted. Wow! Hadn’t I prayed for that? Prayed for a quick and easy sale of our home? Yes I had, and praise the Lord (PTL),  God delivered. I’m not saying that what I pray for is on the “hotline”. I think God is always working on our behalf. In this instance my prayer coincided with God’s plan. Yay!

Now it was up to me to get to Texas and find our new home. *(Insert brakes hitting pavement sound here)* I flew to Texas with the four kids. That was actually a.o.k. I couldn’t believe it. I hate to fly. Really if there was a way to drive, railroad, bike or horseback there in a day I would have. We got to the airport three hours early because I had to park in long-term parking, catch a shuttle, check-in, get through security, and be there an hour early. I prayed it would go smoothly and painlessly. We arrived, parked, shuttled and checked-in at the computer. At security we were ushered to the front of the line via the family travel lane. I could hear angels singing. I found the only perk to flying with four kids ages 16 to 4. Again prayers answered, thank you Lord!

We started our home search early Saturday. What an awakening. I know you’ve all heard it said, “Everything’s bigger in Texas”. And in most instances this is true, look at Texas Stadium! However, one thing that isn’t bigger in Texas are the backyards. The backyards are teeny tiny. So small that you share fences with all your neighbors around you. So small that if you have a pool the dog has to pee in the front yard. This was something I had to wrap my head around. I looked, and looked and found not that much. I had prayed that I would find the perfect house for us. On this trip it just didn’t happen. I found the neighborhood, the schools and the amenities we all want. But no perfect house. We looked at building in the neighborhood we liked, but made no decision. I flew home with bunches of home plan flyers, plot plans and builder’s names. But no perfect house. That week I prayed for more options to become available to us. I researched lots, quick move-in homes and resales in the area. I found there were so many options I had to create a spreadsheet so as not to get confused. I prayed for options, I got options.

An aside. I like to write out my prayers. I feel like I’m better able to conceptualize what I’m feeling this way. I don’t necessarily think God needs any more detail but I know I do. To me prayer should encompass your thought process. I feel like God already knows where it leads and how it leads there. Writing it all down helps me follow the path and make connections. I’ll write prayers on anything old napkins, receipts or book pages. I write them everywhere at home, on vacation and especially in my car. Seriously, it makes car line go much faster. So the other day I found my options prayer on a McDonald’s receipt. I know McDonald’s is bad for you but their receipts come in handy. It was interesting I had forgotten I had prayed for options. In fact, just that morning I had prayed for God to take some things off my plate. I guess I had too many options. Later that afternoon I found out one of the homes on my spreadsheet had sold. I crossed it off my options list. Again, God delivered.

In the interim of all this research and looking at options I realized I was scrambling. Scrambling to find an answer, to find a home. I realized that I had not really turned this process over to God. I was working and working and not allowing God to answer my prayer. I liken it to someone who is addicted. They can’t seem to get away from the addiction. Even working on ending the addiction involves thinking about the addiction. That is why in the 12 Steps to Serenity number one is to admit the addiction and number 2 is to acknowledge that you need help from a Higher Power. I need help. I need to let it go and let God take over. Last night a bible verse came to me that put it all in perspective. And I thought, if I begin to scramble, if I begin to talk about “the house” again I will be very Psalm 3:5-6 about it. I don’t know if you can be Psalm 3:5-6 about anything but I will invoke that verse and call on God.

Psalm 3:5-6 is this

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.[a]

So today I did it. And I feel better. All this thinking and researching has kept me away from what really needs to be done. You guessed it the laundry. So today I sit and I fold, and I fold. But I’m happy overjoyed and excited to see what prayer the Lord will answer today.  I anticipate the blessings yet to come and know that “You get what you pray for.”

photo

Where I sit and fold clothes.

About genxmommy1

Mother of four, wife and daughter. I'm busy but I'm putting myself "out there". I hope to learn and share whatever knowledge I've been able to scrape off this planet.
This entry was posted in Families, House and Home, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

