Balance

Did you ever have a day when you had a billion things to do, but no particular desire to accomplish anything? For instance, I should go to the YMCA, but I put out weed-n-feed on the grass and fixed the latch on the gate to the back yard. I should be cleaning the kitchen, but I finally planted my pathetic looking thyme plant that almost died this winter. I should be doing the laundry, but I’m buying a home warranty online. I should be cleaning up my sewing room, but I’m staring at Winky the cat as she sleeps in the sunshine. It is beautiful and bright today, so I can’t really blame her. I wish I could sleep in a sunbeam.

It isn’t as though what I’m doing isn’t important, well, apart from watching the cat. After all, I’m negotiating how much money to allot to the new home warranty, what it covers, how our mortgage payment is changing and how I need to alter the amount so that extra goes to the principal each month. I finally fixed the stupid latch. I’m signing the girls up for the next swim meet, and the banquet, and examining the bill from the swim team (not a pretty picture, as you can well imagine). I’m reviewing the recipe for dinner tonight so that I can figure out how much of it can be done before I have to leave for the round robin of kids to swim practice. Dinner is Giada’s Farfarlle with Chicken, Cremini Mushrooms and Swiss Chard (but I’m going to use kale). It is easy, healthy and appreciated by all, and best of all, it sits and waits on us. I am studying the calendar so that I don’t forget something. Like the fact that I need to pick Mary up at noon every Tuesday this month because I decided not to put her in lunch bunch. That is out of my norm, so hopefully I won’t forget her.

It wouldn’t be the first time, I’m sorry to say.

Sometimes though, just sitting here, opening mail, dinking around on the computer allows me to do the little things. Balancing the checkbooks, making sure the bills are all put in, checking the balances on the lines of credit and doing projections on the week and the next week.

It is a metaphor for everything in my life. Balance. Always, always thinking beyond the moment and sometimes being crazy productive, and sometimes being quietly productive. It’s the only thing that allows me to get done what I have to get done and gives me a sense of peace because I know I’ve thought it all through.

Sometimes though, I scrap all the other plans and just waste time.

And you know what? Life goes on.

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Families, Food, House and Home, Parenting, Procrastination, Scheduling, Uncategorized, Whats for dinner? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

