Sour Cream Take Two

photo 1

Sour Cream. The struggle is real.

As I agonized, read recipes, watched Do a Dollop of Daisy commercials, I finally fell back on what I know and decided on the pound cake. My main issue isn’t with pound cake. Pound cake is lovely. Crumbly. Vanilla-y. Moist, and plays well with everything.

Strawberries, peaches, cream, chocolate.

Sigh.

My problem with pound cake is the whole eating part of it. I can literally eat an entire cake over the course of a week, square inch bite by square inch bite. Don’t judge, you know you can too. I needed to conquer this problem.

So, I made cupcakes that I can freeze. That way, they are portion controlled, no icing to add extra calories, and OUT OF SIGHT in the freezer.

I thought it worked out rather well!

photo 2

Eggs are soaking in warm water because they came straight from the fridge. That’s a little trick that helps them incorporate better.

I merged my favorite pound cake recipe with the sour cream which gave me a light, fluffy, almost creamy textured cake. Delightful.

Cream Cheese Sour Cream Pound Cake

1/2 pound softened butter (2 sticks)
8oz. softened cream cheese
3 cups sugar
1 cup sour cream
1/2 tsp. baking soda
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. kosher salt
6 large eggs at room temperature
2 tsp. real vanilla

Preheat oven to 325.

Cream butter, cream cheese and sugar together for five minutes in a mixture fitted with the paddle attachment. Add the sour cream and mix well. Sift together the soda, salt and flour. Mix in to creamed mixture slowly, alternating with eggs one at a time. Scrape down well after last addition, making sure to get the bottom of the bowl.

Line 36 (yes, 36) muffin cups with paper liners and using an ice cream scoop, fill about 2/3 full.

Bake for 30-35 or until a wooden skewer comes clean after insertion.

Serve with ice cream, strawberries, chocolate or FREEZE, like I am doing!

photo 3

PS – Only approximately 2 cups left!

 

 

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Budget, Food, House and Home, Life, Whats for dinner? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

