Random Banana Pudding

IMG_3766-1Wednesdays are my easy days.

No, really. I have to take/pickup Mary at 9 and 1, make all the swimmer snacks, and my mom comes and picks up the girls’ bags and food, grabs them from school and takes them to the pool for me. I have Wednesday afternoons “off” because our piano teacher comes to the house for lessons for Lizzie and Bennett.

God smiled on me the day I found our piano teacher.

Today is a little bit more hectic than my usual Wednesdays though because I have to go help at the book fair. I have to leave in about 45 minutes, actually, but I wanted to get this out to you guys because when I get home, I have laundry and dinner and more laundry.

Lucy and I went and walked at the mountain and then to the shops to get a Mother’s Day gift for my mom. We were discussing what to have for dinner, and I told her I needed to get potatoes because Abby and Mollie requested potato salad. So that made me think of BBQ chicken, and Lucy thought of corn, and then I said that’s two starches, so we need broccoli and salad, and she said, “How hard is it to make banana pudding?”

“Easy!” I said. “Let’s do it, I can tell you what to do and you can make it so you can impress your friends.”

But of course, I didn’t want plain banana pudding, with vanilla wafers and all that. (I actually don’t like vanilla wafers all that much, I know, sacrilege.) I was thinking how can it be different?

Lady Fingers.

But lady fingers dipped in what? Because lady fingers are sort of boring unless they are dipped in something.

Rum. (We are having bananas after all, right?)

But kids can’t eat rum-dipped lady fingers. I might get in trouble for that.

And then I had it. Simple syrup laced with rum so that the alcohol cooks out. Perfect.

And that’s what we did. I think it will have a little Bananas Foster flair.

 

Banana Pudding

2 boxes instant vanilla pudding, made according to recipe on box
2 cups heavy cream whipped with 2 tsp. powdered sugar and a splash of vanilla
6-7 bananas cut on the bias
Rum simple syrup (recipe follows)
2 packages lady fingers

Dip the lady fingers in the simple syrup and line the bottom of a trifle dish. Cover completely, squishing if needed.

Layer bananas in one layer over the cookies. Spread 1 1/4 cup of pudding mixture over bananas. Spread 1/3 of the whipped cream over the pudding. Repeat two more times. Cover and chill.

 

Rum Simple Syrup

2 cups water
2 cups white sugar
1 glug of Rum

Bring the water and the sugar to a boil until sugar is dissolved and water is clear again. Stir occasionally. OFF THE HEAT, immediately add the Rum and stir. Set aside to cool.

IMG_3757 IMG_3758 IMG_3759 IMG_3761 IMG_3763 IMG_3764

 

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Children, Families, Food, Life, Scheduling, Teenagers, Whats for dinner? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Banana Pudding

  1. fudgingood says:

    This is inspired. I can’t wait to give it a bash.

Leave a Reply

