Menu for the Week

I know, I know … all I ever talk about is organization, and planning and thinking.

Sometimes I get tired of that. It’s hard to have to think all the time. Plus, sometimes I have a difficult time coming up with anything different, I get in a rut and I can’t get out of it. Last week, I was in a BIG rut. Flew by the seat of my pants every single night. Which worked out because I had stuff to cook, but I don’t recommend it because the kids asked me over and over and over, “What’s for dinner, Mom?!”

I was still sort of over the whole dinner planning thing, when Emma came to me yesterday and (gently) pointed out that we needed to write down the menu. I felt bad that I had fallen down on the job and I told her how tired of it all I was, and guess what? SHE AND ABBY did it!

IMG_4007

 

Here it is, stuck to the fridge with Emma’s magnet from 10 years ago, no less. I took the menu shopping with me and used it as my “list.” Emma and I had discussed how we don’t eat red meat more than once, maybe twice a week. I said that Monday is summer league meet night, so the choice needed to be healthy and portable. She suggested a “veggie night” and I reminded her Thursday is our usual Soup and Sandwich night. We talked about how we needed to have chicken twice (because I have it in the freezer), and soup made with chicken didn’t count as one of those nights (we eat a lot of chicken). Other than the fact they forgot we were going camping (hence the “NEXT WEEK” designation on Friday’s and Saturday’s choices), and that Sunday is Father’s Day, so we will probably not have leftovers, I think they did a great job. I will have to make some minor adjustments to make sure Lucy has food, but overall, they chose some of their favorites.

Here is their menu for the week:

Monday (meet night): Roasted chicken breast, mashed potatoes, green beans
(For Lucy, I am going to sauté mushrooms and onions for her mashed potatoes.)

Tuesday (Veggie night): Eggplant parmesan and roasted veggies (I have squash, zucchini, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower and fennel)
(Since husband isn’t a huge eggplant fan, I’m also going to make a side of pasta with marinara, just like at the restaurants. I will probably make a salad, and serve bread with this too.)

Wednesday: Chicken pot pie with biscuits (instead of crust)
(Lucy’s will be taken out before I add the chicken and done separately.)

Thursday (Soup and Sandwich): They gave me a choice of three soups, Chicken with Wild Rice (you’ve seen this recipe before), Lentil, or Baked Potato Soup … hmm …

Friday (Fish night) (NEXT WEEK): Shrimp Kabobs with rice (For camping, we are having hot dogs, veggie dog for Lucy – ah, the glamorous life.)

Saturday (Beef) (NEXT WEEK): Mexican lasagna (For camping, we are having hamburgers, Boca burger for Lucy. – What? I’m going easy on my first camping trip!)

Sunday: leftovers? (But really, it is Father’s Day, so husband requested fajitas.)

 

They did a good job, don’t you think??

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Children, Families, Food, House and Home, Life, Menu planning, Organization, Scheduling, Whats for dinner? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

