Summer Squash Soup

IMG_4069It’s Thursday …

You know what that means! Soup!

We are having one of our favorites, Ben even told me today that he loves it more than Noodle Soup … Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice. I’ve already posted about this soup, here. Go try it, I promise you won’t be disappointed. But I was in a quandary. What kind of soup could I make for Lucy? Typically, she is gone to school and I don’t need to worry about having to find something vegetarian based for her. Now though, she’s home.

I offered the usual, Roasted Tomato Basil, Amy’s No-Chicken Noodle, but she wasn’t feeling inspired, and so went to play SIMS on the computer. I went upstairs, sure I would figure something out eventually.

I have had a very busy day, cleaned and fixed the grill (yuck, yuck and more yuck, my fingernails are still awful looking), drove the carpool this morning, washed the laundry, hung the sheets outside, walked, drove the afternoon swim carpool, swam, took down the laundry, made the bed … all I wanted was a shower. I was tired, weary and pondering Lucy’s dinner situation when it hit me. Our French dinner last night was a huge success, seriously, they loved it. The vegetable gratin I made was a favorite, but I had leftover vegetables. Yellow squash, zucchini, potatoes, onions, carrots. Some of the zucchini and potatoes were already sliced from last night.IMG_4067

That’s how summer squash soup was born.

It’s a very simple recipe, the base just like all my soups, utilizing carrots and onions, all the vegetables simmered in vegetable broth, blended and dressed with olive oil. Light and healthy. Serve it with crusty bread or cheesy garlic toast.

Summer Squash Soup

1 onion, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 large or 2 small zucchini, chopped
2 large or 4 small yellow summer squash, chopped
1 small potato, peeled and chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Olive oil
1 box Vegetable Stock
salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in saucepan or stockpot over medium heat, add carrots and onions. Cook 3-5 minutes. Add zucchini, squash and potato, cook another 5-7 minutes until all vegetables are soft. Add garlic and cook another minute or so. Add stock and taste for salt and pepper.

When cool enough, blend in blender until smooth, pour back into pan and heat gently.IMG_4068

Taste again for seasoning, dress with extra virgin olive oil if desired, and serve.

 

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Food, Soup, Uncategorized, Whats for dinner? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

