I Don’t Often Eat Bagels …

IMG_4466… but when I do, I prefer Whole Wheat Bagels with Ina’s Homemade Vegetable Cream Cheese, Emma’s home grown tomatoes (she grew them from seed!), salt, pepper and olive oil.

Bagels are just not my food of choice, typically.

Don’t get me wrong, they are yummy. Stretchy, unctuous and doughy. Crisp on the outside and chewy, carb-y goodness on the inside. When I was in college, there was this place on Franklin Street called Brueggar’s Bagels. They sold nothing but bagels and had like, 20 different kinds, plus all the cream cheese flavors you could think of.

Strawberry.

Blueberry.

Salmon.

Veggie. (Made totally with vegetables you could actually see … and get stuck in your teeth!)

You could get bagel sandwiches and bagel chips. Traditional combinations or mixtures dreamed up on the spot.

We never really ate bagels that much growing up, so college was the first time I had them with any regularity. Now, they are everywhere. They are a swimmer’s if not first, then definitely second choice at meets to give them quick carbs and a vehicle for protein (peanut butter, cream cheese, and just plain cheese). There are at least six different brands in the grocery stores and just off the top of my head, I can think of three places near me that sell a-mazing, authentic bagels. But I almost never go there. Too many indulgent carbs at once and honestly? I’d rather indulge in Tiramisu or tacos or chicken tenders.

Every now and then though, I treat myself to a bagel.

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Life, Swimming, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Often Eat Bagels …

  1. Wendy Kenny says:

    You need to have a really bagel from NY or NJ. You will taste the difference.

Leave a Reply

