Cobb Swimmer Power Salad

IMG_4470

I’ve made them before, I’ve written about them before … the power salad.

The salad exactly right for hungry girls (and boys) after school that give them everything they need to get through a two-and-a-half hour workout complete with running and dry land. Protein, veggies, soft, crunchy, sweet, smoky, salty, tart … all in each and every delectable bite.

Power salad is one of their favorites. Sometimes I ask them what they want, and sometimes (more often) I take the more dictatorial authoritative approach and give them what we have in the fridge. I almost always have a carton of hard boiled eggs (labeled as such in the fridge so as not to be confused with their fresh counterparts), lettuce, celery and carrots, tomato, various cheeses, edamame and, because as much as I love bacon, I hate the way it makes my house smell for days, a bag of pre-cooked bacon crumbles. (This comes in very handy the nights we have a make-your-own mashed potato bar.) We keep nuts in the freezer, walnuts, almonds, pecans, and dried fruit in the pantry, cranberries, blueberries, raspberries, apricots. I even keep what I like to call “Salad Crunchies” which is a euphemistic term for anything crispy that tastes good with lettuce. Crunchy tortilla strips, fried wonton strips, heck even crumbled up potato chips are good in a pinch and it only takes a tablespoon or so for the whole salad.

Back in the day before kids, I was a stiff-shirted, white-aproned server in a very posh restaurant down in Buckhead in Atlanta. We had a salad that people went crazy for that had homemade tortilla strips on it. One of the side jobs of the servers were to make the strips with a paper shredder. The cooks would then fry them up and toss them in the salads. So, if you have an extra paper shredder sitting around … it makes great tortilla strips.

Today, I happened to have chicken tenders leftover from our dinner the other night. I’d bought them at the deli at our grocery store and as they are expensive, I am not in to wasting them. Digging through the fridge, I found bacon, cheese, eggs, celery, scallions and tomato. Sounds like the making of an awesome Cobb salad to me! I even had avocado, although I put that on at the very last minute. (My days consist of making things in advance, which doesn’t always work so great with avocados. Alas, they did not make it into the picture.)

In an effort to stem any would-be complaints, I have both girls’ favorite dressings. Mollie likes good old Ranch, but Abby prefers a more sweet approach, so I made her a vinaigrette. All I need now are some granola bars, a banana or two and a pre-made water bottle and we are good to go!

Sweet-Savory Vinaigrette

1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup canola oil
2 T. Worchestershire sauce
1 T. minced onion
1 tsp. poppy seeds
1 tsp. sesame seeds
salt and pepper

Place everything in a Mason jar and shake!

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Menu planning, Organization, Swimming, Teenagers, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

