Sore Throat Food

Mine looked JUST like this ... got this from Google

Mine looked JUST like this … got this from Google

When we lived in Nashville, TN there was this restaurant called The Pancake Pantry. It is still there, enjoying its “new” space (where it has been now for probably at least 10-12 years), but we used to go to it when it was still literally a hole in the wall and the line would stretch outside, down the street and around the back of the restaurant. I think the line still gets like that actually, from what I’ve seen and heard.

The Pancake Pantry always made the best pancakes. Not too thin, not too thick and always sweet. When you wanted to indulge in a flat out carb-fest, it was the place to go because no one made pancakes like them. If any of my kids end up at Vanderbilt, I will definitely put it on my list of places to take them.

Yesterday, Mary and I were in bed all day with strep. She was bee-bopping around by 3 in the afternoon, her little body bouncing back immediately and responding to the ibuprofen and the one dose of antibiotic I’d given her. How did I fare, you ask?

Not so lucky.

I guess if the germ is strong enough to get through the “mommy-filter,” then it is an exceptionally strong germ, because I was laid up with a 102+ fever despite the four Motrin and two Tylenol and the first dose of antibiotic. It hurt to text. It hurt to listen to the tv. It hurt to be still and it hurt to move. The only place I could exist was in the water, surprisingly enough. So, it was bath to bed to bath to bed to bath.

At some point in the afternoon though, I was hungry despite my throat swelling up, and the only thing I could think of eating that wouldn’t hurt, or rather would hurt less, was pancakes. So at four in the afternoon, I made pancakes. I wish I had a picture for you, but … I ate them. Some yesterday, some this morning (because although the fever is finally responding to the medicine, my throat still hurts), and some for Mary.

I put blueberries in them and warm maple syrup on them.

Heaven.

Simple recipe for dinner, or breakfast … or the next time you have a sore throat. I think they are magic food.

1 egg
1 cup ap flour
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
3 T. sugar (this is the trick I learned from the Pancake Pantry)
1 t. vanilla (this is me, because I like vanilla)
1 cup buttermilk
2 T. canola or vegetable oil

Mix dry ingredients with a whisk. Add egg, vanilla, buttermilk and oil. Mix well, but its okay if there are a few lumps.

Heat non-stick skillet to around medium (water should “dance” when sprinkled on), and drop 1/4 cup spoonfuls (an ice cream scoop works GREAT here) onto heated pan. At this point, add frozen or fresh fruit to the top of the pancake if you want. Blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, strawberries all work really well. If you want bananas, I suggest either putting them in the batter, mashed or slice on top after cooking. When bubbles appear on top and the edges are slightly dry, flip. Another few minutes on the other side (make sure it cooks through – you can “lid” the pancake if you want to make sure it cooks inside – and make sure your pan isn’t too hot), and voila! A STACK of goodness that makes everything, even strep throat feel better.

About krob3

Wife, mom, swim taxi, singer, writer. This is what I do.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Life, Uncategorized, Whats for dinner? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

